MSYP elections

MSYP elections

09 September 2021

We are delighted to let you know that we have three candidates standing for election to the Scottish Youth Parliament. You can visit their candidate profiles by clicking on the links below. 

Ewan Knight

Niamh Kirkland

Avery Anne Gill

Of these three candidates two will be elected as Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) and will represent our youth members at a national level.

Voting is now open in the Scottish Youth Parliament elections. Every Explorer and Network Member can vote in this election.

How to vote

The election runs from the 8th until the 21st of November. Our Members aged between 14-25 are able to vote in this election, using an online voting platform hosted by the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Explorer Scouts will be able to log on and vote using a unique number issued to them. We sent these numbers to every District Commissioner, District Explorer Scout Commissioner but please get in touch if you haven’t received them.

Network Members will be able to log onto vote using their membership number.

All you need to do is visit, then click on SYP Elections 2021 box below.  You'll see the vote bar below and a list of constituencies underneath, select Scouts Scotland. You then enter either your unique number or membership number and choose which candidates to vote for.

Any questions then contact  

Why vote

We want this election to be as democratic and youth-led as possible so it’s really important that as many of our eligible members vote as possible.

Our previous MSYPs have done great things like raise awareness of hidden disabilities, campaign on period poverty,  campaign on access to outdoor education and help Scout awards receive greater recognition.